When it comes to diet and lifestyles, perhaps none are more controversial or talked about than vegetarianism and veganism. Most people follow these diets for a healthier lifestyle, although some also cite environmental and ethical reasons for practicing such.
There are many parallels between the two, but their distinct difference is that vegetarians may consume animal byproducts such as dairy (lacto-vegetarians), eggs (ovo-vegetarians), or both (ovo-lacto vegetarians), while vegans avoid eating any animal-derived products at all, including honey. Vegans also tend to avoid using items made from animals and their body parts, such as leather and wool clothing and accessories. This is why “vegetarian” is often referred to as a diet, while “vegan” is more often described as a lifestyle.
Here are some of the other things you should know about if you are planning to follow a vegetarian or vegan diet.
You Can Still Drink Milk
Not dairy milk of course. But there are a lot of plant-based milk products that you can find in the market to satisfy your tastebuds, especially if you are new to the diet and are used to the taste and texture of milk. Apart from being a satisfying beverage, you can also use plant milks to supplement your diet with the necessary nutrients. Hazelnut milk, for example, is an excellent source of vitamin E and manganese, while almond milk contains calcium and potassium, as well as a decent amount of vitamin E. Most plant milks are also cruelty free, which makes them ideal for vegetarians and vegans alike.
Your Protein Intake Won’t Suffer
One of the main concerns about switching to a vegetarian or vegan diet is the seeming lack of protein sources. However, many people are already over-consuming protein, especially if they eat a balanced omnivorous diet. Besides, it is already common knowledge by now that there are many plants and seeds that are excellent sources of protein; even non-vegetarians turn to these protein sources in attempts to make their eating habits a little bit healthier.